WebQuest for Creating Critical Thinking Job Aids

Silhouette of head with different objects floating overhead

I created my first academic Webquest to search for the critical thinking processes particular to a student’s field of study.  For example, I give them key words to use like “thinking frames” + “critical thinking” + “reading” + “medicine”.  Once they find 10 different resources, they are to place at least 6 key elements into a job aid to help them read critically.  I provided them with information on the various job aid formats from the American Society of Training and Development (ASTD).

The WebQuest was one of my assignments this past week for my doctoral course in Web-based course design. Actually, I could do it on any topic, but I choose one for a hybrid course I’m creating titled Critical Reading 101.  I already submitted the assignment but find myself going back to tweak it.  Webquests are great, but they have so many little loose pieces of information that you need to tie up in a nice bow in order for it to work.  Plus, there’s the fine line of providing too much help and not enough.  My assignment stated less than 10 hyperlinks; mine only has 6.  

I used Zunal, which allows you to make one freebie Webquest.  There’s something wrong with their PDF maker, as it publishes the document with errors and without the hyperlinks.  Nevertheless, it’s a great site to host your Webquest or find an existing one.  Zunal serves a a job aid for creating a Webquest as it takes you through the introduction, task, process, evaluation, and conclusion.

Here’s my Webquest: http://zunal.com/webquest.php?w=250042

P.S. You can evaluate my WebQuest on the Evaluate WebQuest page.  It even offers a self-evaluation tool that was very helpful.  I still need to add the references to the Teacher Page and Common Core Standards for Grades 11-12.

Author: teacherrogers

Content developer, instructional designer, trainer, and researcher

2 thoughts on “WebQuest for Creating Critical Thinking Job Aids”

Thanks for visiting my blog! Please leave a message.

